[Grammar] Difference Between ‘Bring’, ‘Take’ & ‘Fetch’

Hi all! Welcome back! The answer to the last episode is

1.B       2.A     3.B


‘Bring’, ‘take’ and ‘fetch’ can all be used to mean moving something from one place to another. You may be confused about choosing which verb in different situations. So today we are going to learn about the difference between them.

127

1. ‘Bring’

The choice between ‘bring’ or ‘take’ depends on the location of the speaker. You ask people to bring things to the place you are. Generally, use ‘bring’ when something moves from there to here.

  • Bring some food to my house.
  • Bring me some books.
  • Bring some coffee when you come back.

2. ‘Take’

We take things from the place where we are to another place. ‘Take’ is used in relation to a starting point. Generally, use ‘take‘ when something moves from here to there.

  • If you go shopping, remember to take your credit card with you.
  • Please take your personal belongs with you when you leave.
  • Jim took his camera with him on his trip.

take thing there

Attention: ‘Bring’ and ‘take’ have a similar meaning when used with ‘with’ or ‘along with’. They mean to keep something with you when you go somewhere.

  • She took her brother along with them on the trip.

=She brought her brother along with them on the trip.

  • I took my book with me so I can read while I wait for you to finish.

=I brought my book with me so I can read while I wait for you to finish.

3. Fetch

‘Fetch’ means to go to another place to get something or someone and return with the thing or the person. We use it for people and things that are not here but that we need or are due to be here. Usually, ‘get’ and ‘fetch’ have the same meaning.

  • I have to fetch my mother from the station.
  • She fetched another chair from the dining room.
  • He fetches the children from school on Mondays and Fridays.

1_nROAmzDLiFCLQ9z7pMx8Wg


Practice:

1. Did you __________ your homework to class today?

A. take           B. bring         C. fetch

2. The children ______ their books with them to class.

A. took           B. brought         C. fetched

3. That looks uncomfortable. I’ll go and _____ a cushion for you.

A. take           B. bring         C. fetch

Don’t forget to leave your answers below. See you next time:)

.png

16 Comments

  1. 1) Did you bring your homework to class today.
    2) The children brought their books with them
    to class.
    3) That looks uncomfortable. I’ll go and fetch a
    cushion for you.

    Like

Look forward to your reply!